top of page
Writer's pictureJess McCallum

Chronixx's Chronology: a 21st century classic

Updated: Jul 24, 2023


Headphones upon a Rastafarian flag.

Upon first listening to this album, I wasn’t impressed. I’d never heard sounds like it before, which I’m sure was part of the reason I was hesitant to pursue it.

Perhaps it was the quality? After all, I first heard it through the speakers of an older car. However, once I experienced this album through my headphones my opinion changed drastically…






Chronology makes for a varied listening experience, tracks such as ‘loneliness’ (which is more downbeat) and ‘skankin’ sweet’ (which is more upbeat) are drastically different in style but compliment one another very well. Chronixx’s ability to branch out into different tempos while retaining fluidity between songs really is something to be admired.


Not only does Chronology feature a versatile sound, it also succeeds in platforming current political and social issues. Songs such as ‘ghetto paradise’ and ‘black is beautiful’ explore the experience of growing up in a society which favours western values and appearances.


Ghetto Paradise examines how the people of Jamaica are neglected by the government. The lyrics -

‘Cah, the government buy arms give the killer

Two party ah flex like a party dem inna

Accepting presents from foreign government

Weh still ah fool dem and a school dem and a khaki dem in’ - reflects this, in telling the story of a country which sees its population as disposable soldiers; and how a life of poverty keeps them trapped in the army and low paying jobs.


Acoustic guitar.

The powerful lyrics and variety of styles observed in this album makes for an incredibly thought provoking musical adventure, which never gets boring. For these reasons I believe that Chronology is a five star album. It’s beyond me that he wasn’t successful in his Grammy nomination for Best Reggae Album; but as his fan base continues to grow, I’m sure this won’t be the case for long.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page