top of page
Writer's pictureJess McCallum

Schizophrenia and music - how this coping mechanism helps some maintain independence

Music is a universal language, it's loved by most and used by many to get through life’s nitty gritties. Although, for some people it can be an important lifeline in helping them navigate a tricky world. For Khyl, who lives with Schizophrenia, it does just that…


Schizophrenia is a condition which affects your perception of reality. This can be through hallucinations, psychosis and paranoid thinking styles. Depictions of schizophrenia in the media may lead you to believe that those with the condition are dangerous, but when speaking to Khyl, it’s clear that this isn’t the case. He explained that ‘In reality, people with schizophrenia tend to be more likely to endanger themselves because they feel threatened and paranoid’. He described how films such as ‘split’ further stigmatise severe mental health conditions. ‘It’s like everyone tends to have the horror movie mindset about it all, expecting you to switch between crazy axe murderer mode and normal.’



Adobe Stock


Schizophrenia can’t be treated and so, for those living with the conditions, it’s important to find coping strategies. Studies have shown that music is effective in helping those with schizophrenia gain/maintain independence from their illness. For Khyl, this coping skill is an effective way of suppressing hallucinations and delusions (positive symptoms). ‘Where I can, I listen to music and try to engage my brain elsewhere. I tend to find it usually helps me to stop focusing on what was distressing me. That means I can usually power through and finish whatever I set out to do’.


However, it isn’t always possible for Khyl to listen to music, so it is important for him to have a range of coping strategies. When asked what else he does to ease his symptoms, Khyl expressed that “due to the social setting I work in, there is usually someone I can have a pleasant conversation with should my symptoms ever get the better of me”. Furthermore, “My job requires that I’m always running back and forth whilst working, so it is like I am offering my brain a side-quest in a way.”.


Music note - Adobe Stock

Asked about what he would say to his younger self, Khyl explained that “you won't always be paranoid and scared. It was terrifying the first time we ever saw a visual hallucination. But there are coping strategies, and you will find them eventually. So just take it easy I suppose.”


Please reach out to your GP or one of these organisations if you are worried about your mental health:


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page