top of page
Writer's pictureJess McCallum

The link between neurodivergence and music

It has often been said that people with Autism and ADHD are creatively gifted, as such, it is no surprise that such a large portion of artists are neurodivergent. Neurodiversity describes those that think differently to the established ‘norm’. It could be argued that to go into the music industry, you do have to divert from what is considered normal.


Additionally, it may be easier for those with these differences to pick up music . A study, conducted in 2019, showed that those with autistic traits exhibited higher rates of natural perfect pitch . The idea that musical abilities are innately programmed into neurodiverse individuals is strengthened by a dysregulated production of dopamine. It has been said that music can promote the regulation of dopamine and so this may be part of the reason that neurodiverse individuals go into the industry. This may also explain why listening to music is so important to neurodiverse folks.


With the likes of Gary Newman, Marty Balin (of Jefferson Airplane) and Courtney Love (Hole and Faith no more), all belonging to the neurodiverse community, it’s hard to argue differently…

Similarly, a large portion of musicians are dyslexic, this may be due to the fact that dyslexia and dyspraxia are comorbid with ADHD and Autism. Ozzy Osbourne, for instance, reportedly deals with both ADHD and dyslexia. Further, Mick Fleetwood has previously spoken out about how his Dyslexia helped him establish his unpredictable and unique drumming style. Stating that, “Dyslexia has absolutely tempered the way I think about rhythm and the way I’ve played my instrument,”. (copyright, fair use)


It has been found that music can actually improve cognitive function which may be an indicator as to why the neurodiverse lean towards the industry. A study, comparing the effects of music and art as a coping mechanism, concluded that 90 percent of children within the music group showed improvement in verbal intelligence and brain plasticity during executive functioning tasks.


'Neurodiversity is beautiful' - Adobe Stock

As an individual who falls under the label of neurodiversity, it’s difficult to disagree with these statistics. I am autistic, so I find difficulty in tasks that others wouldn’t think twice about. That being said, it works both ways. As somebody who was diagnosed later on in life (17), there weren’t any resources made available to me. However, ever since I was little, I’ve found solace and comfort in music.

At 13 I started playing the drums at school. I always found that after these lessons I was able to concentrate better and overcome stress easier. Music has also helped me maintain my independence.

Busy, public areas can be particularly distressing for us autists, especially when we are already overwhelmed. However, through listening to music, I am able to block out these distressing sounds and thus carry on as normal. My sensory issues also make exams particularly hard, small sounds such as keyboard tapping are exaggerated for me, meaning that I concentrate on them instead of the task at hand.

While I am able to succeed through coursework, my grades always suffered due to exam stress. However, since I’ve been granted accommodations, including the ability to listen to music, I’ve achieved a first and a 2:1!

On top of this, us autistic people have very big emotions, music has been the only relief for me in managing these and helping me regulate myself again. It’s strange but this little life hack can have such positive implications for those of us who think and experience the world differently. Music works wonders and people like myself are testimony to this. It is no wonder that so many of us gravitate towards the music industry, whether that be through performing or writing about it!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page